Exterior of the National Museum of Qatar

Iconic Architecture

The complex form of the desert rose, found in Qatar’s arid desert regions, inspired the striking design of the NMoQ building, conceived by French architect Jean Nouvel.

Completed in 2019, the museum’s building has been constructed around the centerpiece of Sheikh Abdullah bin Jassim Al Thani’s original palace – his family home and seat of the government for 25 years. The palace has been carefully restored and conserved so that it can be enjoyed by visitors and future generations to come.

In addition to the unique architecture and stunning gallery spaces, the building features a 220-seat auditorium, two restaurants, a café and a traditional food forum.

For scholars and students, the museum offers a new research centre and laboratories along with access to digital archives. A landscaped park also provides visitors with a chance to explore and learn about Qatar’s indigenous plants and their role in Qatari culture.

Qatar has a deep rapport with the desert, with its flora and fauna, its nomadic people, its long traditions. To fuse these contrasting stories, I needed a symbolic element. Eventually, I remembered the phenomenon of the desert rose: crystalline forms, like miniature architectural events, that emerge from the ground through the work of wind, salt water, and sand.

Jean Nouvel, Architect

Share this page

متحف قطر الوطني من الخارج

تصميم أيقوني

يمثل متحف قطر الوطني درة تاج الثقافة القطرية، ويعكس تصميمه الهوية القطرية؛ إذ تتداخل فيه ملامح الأصالة والمعاصرة حيث أراد مصمّمه المعماريّ الفرنسي المرموق جان نوفيل أن تأخذ هذه التحفة المعمارية البديعة شكل الأقراص المتشابكة المستلهَمة من وردة الصحراء، والتي تستحضر نمط حياة الشعب القطري بين البحر والصحراء.

تم تشييد المتحف، الذي انتهى بناؤه عام 2019، حول القصر القديم للشيخ عبد اللّه بن جاسم آل ثاني، والذي كان منزل عائلته ومقر الحكومة لمدة 25 عاماً، وقد تم ترميم المبنى الذي يُعدُّ رمزاً وطنياً بارزاً ليكون معلماً متميّزاً في قلب متحف قطر الوطني يستمتع الزوار والأجيال القادمة بزيارته.

بالإضافة إلى الهندسة المعمارية الفريدة ومساحات العرض الرائعة، يمكن للزوار الاستفادة من قاعة تتسع لـ 220 مقعداً. وتناول الطعام في مطعمين ومقهى، ومنتدى للطعام التقليدي.

يقدم المتحف للباحثين والطلاب، مركز أبحاث ومختبرات بحثية حديثة ومتخصصة بالإضافة إلى سهولة الوصول إلى الأرشيف الرقمي. كما تحيط بالمتحف حديقة ذات مناظر طبيعية خلاّبة، تتيح للزوار فرصة استكشاف ومعرفة النباتات المحلية في قطر ودورها في الثقافة القطرية.

لقطر علاقة ضاربة في عمق التاريخ مع الصحراء ونباتاتها وحيواناتها وبَدوها وعاداتها. ولهذا بحثت عن معنى رمزيّ يعبّر عن هذه العلاقة بجميع خيوطها المتناقضة، إلى أن تذكرتُ ظاهرة وردة الصحراء بأشكالها البلورية التي تشبه التفاصيل المعمارية الصغيرة؛ تلك الوردة التي تخرجُ من الأرض وتتشكل بفعل اجتماع الرياح مع الماء المالح والرمال.

جان نوفيل، مهندس معماري

شارك هذه الصفحة