A boy looking at an insect display at the National Museum of Qatar.

Kids in Museums Manifesto

The National Museum of Qatar is proud to have signed the Kids in Museums Manifesto.

People have been at the heart of the museum’s vision and development. As a result, the National Museum of Qatar offers all our visitors a multifaceted and immersive experience no matter their age or knowledge of our nation’s history and its people. We pride ourselves on the way the story is told through a succession of multilayered exhibits that include archival images, digital interactivity and educational games as well as sensory elements such as audio, scents and tactile models.

Kids in Museums Manifesto

Our manifesto is a set of simple guidelines for museums, created in collaboration with children, young people and families. It sets out what they feel makes a museum a great place to visit.

  1. Be welcoming. Create an environment where families can explore, have fun and learn together. Make sure staff and volunteers provide a warm welcome and make all interactions with visitors friendly and informative. Include objects that can be touched, and use clear labels to communicate when and why other objects cannot be touched. Welcome enthusiastic comments and always keep instructions positive.
  2. Make it easy and comfortable. Think about your facilities and spaces from a family's perspective. Have seating for all generations to enjoy a rest. Can you provide a picnic area, make your café family friendly or direct people to reasonably priced eateries nearby? Having baby-changing facilities, a breastfeeding welcome attitude, booster steps in your toilets and somewhere to keep buggies is important for those with younger visitors.
  3. Remember families come in all shapes and sizes. Consider what different family members need from their visit and provide ways for them to explore together. Families can include children under, young people, parents, carers, grandparents, cousins and friends. Reflect this diversity in your activities, displays and ticketing.
  4. Be accessible to all. Ensure all your visitors are equally supported and welcomed. Families face many challenges when visiting museums, including the cost of a visit and language and cultural barriers. For those with disabilities, it may be difficult to access your space and its collections. Ask a range of children, young people and families how you can better communicate with them and make their visit easier.
  5. Communicate well. Make sure you let families know everything you have to offer them. You can do this through outreach visits, posters and leaflets, and online through your website and social media. Think about where families might find information before a visit and communicate clearly on arrival.
  6. Work together. Collaborate with children, young people and families as equal partners on events, displays and exhibitions. This will help you to include their stories and give them a stronger sense of ownership.

Share this page

طفلان يتحسسان لوحة معلومات بلغة بريل في متحف قطر الوطني

الأطفال في المتاحف – البيان الرسمي

يفخر متحف قطر الوطني بتوقيعه وثيقة "الأطفال في المتاحف – البيان الرسمي".

يضع متحف قطر الوطني الجمهور في صميم رؤيته وتطوره، حيث يلتزم بتقديم تجارب مفيدة ومتنوعة له بشكل مستمر، بصرف النظر عن اختلاف أعمارهم ومدى معرفتهم بتاريخ قطر وشعبها. ويفخر متحف قطر الوطني بالطريقة التي يقدم فيها قصة قطر عن طريق سلسلة من المعارض المتنوعة التي تضم الصور الأرشيفية ووسائط التفاعل الرقمي والألعاب التعليمية والعناصر الحسية كالأصوات والروائح والنماذج اللمسية.

الأطفال في المتاحف – البيان الرسمي

إن بياننا هذا هو عبارة عن مجموعة من الإرشادات البسيطة الخاصة بالمتاحف، تم إعداده بمشاركة الأطفال، والشباب، والعائلات، حيث يوضح آراءهم حول الأشياء التي تجعل المتحف مكاناً رائعاً للزيارة.

  1. كن مرحبّاً: أوجد بيئة تمكن العائلات من الاستكشاف وقضاء وقت ممتع، والتعلم معاً. تأكد من أن الموظفين والمتطوعين يرحبون بالزوار ترحيباً حاراً، ويتفاعلون معهم بشكل ودي وغني بالمعلومات المفيدة. ومن المفيد أن تتضمن الزيارة أشياء قابلة للمس، وحين لا يكون اللمس متاحاً، فمن المهم أن يكون ذلك مفسّراً بشكل واضح في اللوحات الإرشادية. رحب بتعليقات المهتمين، واحرص دوماً على صياغة التعليمات بطريقة إيجابية.
  2. اجعل زيارتهم سهلة ومريحة: فكر بالمرافق والأماكن الخاصة بك من منظور الأسرة. خصص مقاعد تناسب جميع الأجيال لكي يتمتعوا باستراحة. هل من الممكن توفير مساحة للنزهات، أو مقهى ملائماً لكل العائلة، أو توجيه الناس إلى مطاعم قريبة ذات أسعار معقولة؟ ومن المهم أيضاً بالنسبة للعائلات وجود أماكن مخصصة لتغيير ملابس الأطفال، والرضاعة الطبيعية، ووجود سلم حَمَّام للأطفال في دورات المياه، ووجود مكان مخصص لترك عربات الأطفال، جميعها أمور ذات أهمية خاصة لمن يصطحبون الزوار الصغار.
  3. تذكر أن العائلات تأتي بكل الأشكال والأحجام: فكر بما يحتاجه مختلف أفراد الأسرة من زياراتهم ووفر لهم طرقاً للاستكشاف الجماعي. يمكن أن تضم العائلات الأطفال دون الخامسة من العمر، والشباب، والآباء، ومقدمي الرعاية، والأجداد، والأقارب، والأصدقاء. اعكس هذا التنوع في أنشطتك، وعروضِك، وفي حجز التذاكر.
  4. أن تكون متواجداً لمساعدة الجميع: تأكد من أن يتلقى جميع زوارك قدراً متساوياً من الدعم والترحيب. تواجه العائلات العديد من التحديات عند زيارة المتاحف، بما في ذلك تكلفة الزيارة والحواجز اللغوية والثقافية. وقد يواجه الأشخاص ذوو الإعاقة صعوبات في الوصول إلى المتحف ومقتنياته. اسأل مجموعة متنوعة من الأطفال، والشباب، والعائلات كيف يمكنك التواصل معهم بشكل أفضل وجعل زيارتهم أسهل.
  5. تواصل بشكل جيد: احرص على إخبار العائلات بكل الأشياء التي يمكنك تقديمها لهم. تستطيع القيام بذلك من خلال الزيارات التوعوية، والملصقات، والمنشورات، والمنصات الرقمية. فكر في الأماكن التي قد تجد فيها الأسر المعلومات قبل الزيارة وتواصل معهم بكل وضوح عند الوصول.
  6. عمل معاً: تعاون مع الأطفال، والشباب، والأسر كشركاء متساوين في المناسبات، والعروض، والمعارض. سيساعدك هذا على أخذ قصصهم بالاعتبار ومنحهم إحساسياً أقوى بالملكية.

شارك هذه الصفحة